Login | Register

Who Took the Silverware?

by Race Committee, July 22nd, 2018

Last night was the big Vic-Maui Awards Banquet on the Ocean Lawn at the Sheraton Kaanapali. What an affair with lots of silverware loading the tables and a full 7 person band to keep everyone entertained. Joy Ride started the parade of trophies as the Big Winner of Vic-Maui 2018 - taking home the Royal Vancouver Yacht Club Trophy for First Overall.

John Murkowski and Joy Ride also added the LYC Past Commodores Trophy for First in Division 1 corrected time, and Navigator Bron Miller won the Captain George Vancouver RN Trophy for Navigator, First Division 1 corrected time.

Bob Strong and his Firefly won the Lahaina Yacht Club Trophy for Line Honours (or First to Finish, elapsed time). They also took home the RVYC Aloha Trophy for Second Overall corrected time, Governor John A. Burns Trophy for First to Finish, Division 1 elapsed time and the M.V. Sea Q Trophy for Best Start. Navigator Brad Baker won the Gabrielle III Trophy for Navigator, First to Finish elapsed time.

Christof Marti and the crew on Salient won the RVYC Kla-How-Ya Trophy for Third Overall corrected time. They added the Founders Trophy for First in Division 2 corrected time and Navigator Gunnar Jonsson won the Lahaina Restoration Foundation Trophy for First Divison 2 corrected time.

Mark and Annette Malacek (and the rest of family) and the crew aboard Kraken won the LYC Imperial Trophy for Second, Division 2 corrected time and Mark Malacek won the Andreas Schueller Memorial Trophy for his navigation skills in being closest to predicted ETA at finish.

Travis McGregor's Turnagain one the City of Victoria Trophy for being First to Finish Division 2 elapsed time as well as the RVYC Chairman's Trophy for First Overall sailing for Royal Vancouver Yacht Club and the Jim Innes Trophy for being the First Canadian Boat to finish corrected time.

Doug Frazer and the turtle saviours on Oxomoxo won the LYC Foundation Trophy for Outstanding Environmental Stewardship for putting their race on hold to go and free a Hawksbill Turtle from carrying 5 lbs of rope 1000 miles from land. Oxomoxo fittingly also won the GFY Turtle Trophy for last to Finish.

Clayton Craigie and Anjo won the LYC Trustees Trophy for having sailed the longest course to the finish. They combined 97 extra miles on the race course with a delivery from California to Victoria shortly after taking delivery of the boat.

In Cruising Class, Victor Mushkatin won the Beneteau Trophy as First corrected time. 

SPONSOR OF THE DAY: (special thank you from Race Committee for hospitality during our stay in Lahaina)

Pioneer Inn, Lahaina

Built in 1901 and substantially remodeled to meet Best Western standards, the Pioneer Inn in Lahaina, Maui, captures the ambiance of the whaling days and the plantation era, with architecture that evokes the tranquil lifestyle of turn of the century Lahaina while offering all the comforts and convenience of a modern hotel.

Phone: (808) 661-3636

Website: http://www.pioneerinnmaui.com/

View All Articles

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Supporting Sponsors